The Buddhist Centre: buddhism for today

Tag: online meditation

Online Meditators
Online Meditators

New Time for Online Meditation (from June 11th)

By Candradasa on Tue, 4 Jun, 2013 - 17:04

New Time for Online Meditation (from June 11th)

By Candradasa on Tue, 4 Jun, 2013 - 17:04Hi all, after some consultation here and over on Facebook, we’re going to try a new day and time for our regular online meditation sessions. The new summer class will be on Tuesdays at 11.30am-12.30pm PST / 2.30-3.30pm EST / 7.30-8.30pm UK / 8.30-9.30pm Europe.

N.B. There won’t be a class this week on Thursday, and we’ll start the new schedule on Tuesday June 11th.

We’ll be online 15 minutes before...
Online Meditators
Online Meditators

A change of time?

By Candradasa on Thu, 30 May, 2013 - 16:56

A change of time?

By Candradasa on Thu, 30 May, 2013 - 16:56Hi all, we’ve had a bit of feedback of late that the time for online meditation no longer really suits people’s schedules, including several folk who have been attending regularly… So, given that, we were wondering if a shift to evening time in the UK/Europe would work better? That would mean starting sometime between 11am-12pm PST / 2-3pm EST / 7-8pm UK / 8-9pm Europe.

Please let us know your thoughts here or over on...
Online Meditators
Online Meditators

Tomorrow's Meditation - With Recollection of the Buddha

By Candradasa on Wed, 29 May, 2013 - 19:16

Tomorrow's Meditation - With Recollection of the Buddha

By Candradasa on Wed, 29 May, 2013 - 19:16As part of marking Buddha Week, tomorrow’s meditation will be the Metta Bhavana incorporating the traditional practice of ‘Recollection of the Buddha’. We’ll call to mind the Buddha and his qualities, with a particular focus on his compassion for all living beings.

The session will run at the new standard time of 8.30amPST/11.30amEST/4.30pm UK/ 9pm Maharashtra. Connect on Skype with user thebuddhistcentre.com and IM (Instant Message) to be added to the...
Online Meditators
Online Meditators

Mindfulness Thursday

By Candradasa on Wed, 22 May, 2013 - 19:45

Mindfulness Thursday

By Candradasa on Wed, 22 May, 2013 - 19:45Our online meditation session this week will be at the usual time of 11.30am EST / 4.30pm UK / 9pm Maharashtra, and we’ll try both Skype and Google Hangout options again. Connect on Skype with user thebuddhistcentre.com and IM (Instant Message) to be added to the call. If you’re not sure about finding us on Skype, see here for more details!

We’ll be online 15 mins before the meditation, which will be...
Online Meditators
Online Meditators

Metta Bhavana This Week

By Candradasa on Wed, 8 May, 2013 - 15:03

Metta Bhavana This Week

By Candradasa on Wed, 8 May, 2013 - 15:03Our meditation this Thursday will run at the new standard time of 8.30am PST/11.30amEST/4.30pm UK/ 9pm Maharashtra. Connect on Skype with user thebuddhistcentre.com and IM (Instant Message) to be added to the call. We’ll be online 15 mins before the meditation, which will be the Metta Bhavana, with an extended section of ‘Just Sitting’. We’ll also have some time to share and discuss meditation generally after the session.

If you’re...
Online Meditators
Online Meditators

Mindfulness of Breathing for Meditation Thursdays Online

By Candradasa on Wed, 1 May, 2013 - 18:39

Mindfulness of Breathing for Meditation Thursdays Online

By Candradasa on Wed, 1 May, 2013 - 18:39Many thanks to Animisha for stepping in as ever to cover our online ‘Meditation Thursdays’ this past couple of weeks! Our session this week will be at the usual time of 11.30amEST/4.30pm UK/ 9pm Maharashtra, and we’ll have both Skype and Google Hangout options. Connect on Skype with user thebuddhistcentre.com and IM (Instant Message) to be added to the call. If you’re not sure about finding us on Skype, see here for more details!
...
Online Meditators
Online Meditators

This Thursday's meditation

By Candradasa on Tue, 9 Apr, 2013 - 16:52

This Thursday's meditation

By Candradasa on Tue, 9 Apr, 2013 - 16:52Our meditation this Thursday will run at the new root time of 11.30am EST/4.30pm UK/ 9pm Maharashtra, and we’ll have both Skype and Google Hangout options. Connect on Skype with userthebuddhistcentre.com and IM (Instant Message) to be added to the call. We’ll be online 15 mins before the meditation, which will be the Metta Bhavana, with an extended section of ‘Just Sitting’. We’ll also have some time to share and discuss...
Online Meditators
Online Meditators

Sitting in the new season

By Candradasa on Tue, 2 Apr, 2013 - 23:24

Sitting in the new season

By Candradasa on Tue, 2 Apr, 2013 - 23:24Hi all,

Well, the new later time last week seemed promising. So we’ll keep on in that direction now the season has officially changed everywhere!

This Thursday our meditation will run from 11.30am EST/4.30pm UK/ 9pm Maharashtra, and we’ll have both Skype and Google Hangout options. Connect on Skype with userthebuddhistcentre.com and IM to be added to the call. We’ll be online 15 mins before the meditation, which will be the ...
Online Meditators
Online Meditators

This week's sit

By Candradasa on Wed, 27 Mar, 2013 - 14:04

This week's sit

By Candradasa on Wed, 27 Mar, 2013 - 14:04Hi all, well, the time experiment continues apace…

This week, to accomodate the changing clocks in different places, we’ll try sitting at the later time on Thursday of 12.15pm EST/ 4.15pm UK / 9.45 pm Maharashtra… We’ll have both Skype and Google Hangout options. Connect on Skype with user thebuddhistcentre.com and IM to be added to the call. We’ll be online 15 mins before the meditation, which will be the Metta Bhavana.
...
Online Meditators
Online Meditators

Meditation this week!

By Candradasa on Tue, 19 Mar, 2013 - 15:57

Meditation this week!

By Candradasa on Tue, 19 Mar, 2013 - 15:57Hello everyone! Now I’m back from our Buddhist Centre Online trip to India I’m really looking forward to sitting with you again! Many thanks to Animisha for her lead in the last few weeks with the online meditations - amazing to be so far away and know that a friend in the Outer Hebrides was helping keep our wee international practice kula* together!

This week we’ll be meeting to do the metta bhavana...

Pages