Select Page

The Buddhist Centre Live

Buddhism for everyone
See what's onWatch & subscribe on YouTube

Subscribe to the Dharma Toolkit Newsletter for details of our events program.

Catch up on all our past live events! Watch and subscribe to our new channel on YouTube.

At the Dharma Toolkit we want to offer easy access to Buddhist approaches to life that can help you through the pandemic – and beyond!

Whether you’re brand new to Buddhism and meditation, or experienced in the ways of the Dharma, we hope you’ll find something here for you.

Join some of the best teachers from Buddhist Centres and retreat venues in our community for a series of online events to inspire and guide.

Meditate with us live online, six day a week!

All our classes are offered by donation. If you can, donate to allow others who can’t afford it to access these vital Dharma resources when they need them most.

Thank you!

Donate and support Dharma classes online

Live Events

Roots in the Earth, Roots in the Sky

Join us for Triratna Day live on April 8th

Saturday April 8th, hosted live from Adhisthana and around the world by Jnanadhara

Roots in the Earth
Since our founding, Triratna has evolved to become a truly international sangha in special – even sacred – spaces. Collaborating in the creation of these spaces has been crucial to how we’ve grown individually and collectively. This Triratna Day, we’re celebrating the significance of such spaces in our history and the work that is happening to put roots down in new places today.

From Bhante’s early work in England to the current efforts of Order Members in countries as diverse as New Zealand, Finland, Poland, Mexico, India, and Brazil, our community has recognized the importance of establishing and nurturing new ground for practice. This is Sangha as an ever-widening circle – continuing to ripple and spread, grow and flourish, across the globe.

Roots in the Sky
As Bhante once said, for our Sangha to thrive we need really deep roots – roots, that is, in the sky! This way of speaking about bodhichitta is embodied in the image of the cosmic Refuge Tree. On Triratna Day we will also hear from senior members of the Order live from Adhisthana, who will share their personal connections with figures from the tree, exploring why they remain vital to our lineage of practice and to our sense of Triratna as a whole.

Let’s come together in large numbers around the world to celebrate our roots – in the earth and in the sky.

Tejananda

Supporting FutureDharma Fund’s Thousand 1000s Campaign!
When you give to FutureDharma you’re supporting ‘Everyday Bodhisattvas’—Dharma farers who practice and share the Dharma with other people.

Throughout the world these extraordinary people create Buddhist Centres, translate Dharma texts, teach, and make it possible for anyone, anywhere in the world to practice the Dharma.

We hope to raise £15,000 today so that many more people can transform their lives and build a better world.

If 250 of us give £60, then we can do it!

Forces for Good – Challenging Emotions as Portals to Liberation

A Home Retreat with Balajit, Singhashri and Viveka

April 28 – May 4 2023

What if all emotions, including those we sometimes find challenging, had something important to tell us about ourselves, others, and the world?

🧘‍♀️ 🧘‍♂️ Seven days of meditation, soulful exploration, and strong, supportive friendship: a gently held space to go deeper into experience and practice. 

Led by Balajit, Singhashri, and Viveka

Friday April 28th till Thursday May 4th 2023

***

About the retreat

This Home Retreat invites us to collectively flip the script on how we may habitually relate to some emotions as more valuable than others in our process of getting to know ourselves. What if we could break out of any thinking that simply pits the “better” parts of ourselves against the “worst”?

Through a deep dive into embodied experience, moment-by-moment, we’ll uncover the potential for integrity at the heart of emotions like fear, grief, and anger. Exploring what these emotions reveal to us when allowed to be fully known and felt in awareness – before our habits of identifying with, or banishing, kick in.

Together we’ll get curious about where challenging emotions come from as parts of us–and what they might need to liberate the energy usually bound up in them. We’ll investigate how connecting with our bodies of energy can support us as we learn to relate differently to our emotions and their impact on our lives.

In these challenging times we’ll also look at working with feeling together through conflict, leaning into the promise of this as a way to move towards creating a more liberated world.

Join us to co-create an emergent space that will include meditation, community agreements, friendship, somatic exercises, movement, reflections, small and large group discussions and enquiry, teaching input, guided practices, and creative ritual!

Come to any sessions you wish on this Home Retreat – catch up online with all the teachings throughout the week!

Tejananda

Balajit

Balajit (he/him) has been leading retreats and events across the UK for around 15 years. For several years he lived and worked at Vajraloka Retreat Centre in North Wales.
 
He  is currently based in Birmingham, where he mixes Buddhist teaching responsibilities with work as a trauma therapist. He has studied the newly emerging psycho-biological approaches to trauma work- and is qualified in Somatic Experiencing, NARM therapy and SHEN Therapy.
 
In the past few years, Balajit has been exploring correspondences between these emerging approaches and  the canonical Dharma, as aids to becoming more embodied and the arising of the bodhicitta.
 

Singhashri

Singhashri (she/her or they/them) is a queer, Latinx-American dharma teacher and writer. They teach mindfulness and compassion as means to awakening to love, beauty and truth and have committed their life to supporting collective liberation for all and the joy and freedom found there. They teach at various retreat and urban centres across the UK, Europe and the USA, and support a number of projects aimed at creating greater diversity and inclusion within Buddhist sanghas and the secular mindfulness field. They currently live in London with their partner.

Viveka

Viveka (she/they) has worked for social, racial, economic, environmental and gender justice and civil rights for 30 years as a consultant, facilitator, trainer, coach and somatic coach. She specializes in guiding leaders and organizations through transformational processes: race equity and liberation culture change and strategy, team building and coaching, vision and strategy, leading innovation and change and working with conflict, leadership transition, and alliance building.

Viveka was chair of the San Francisco Buddhist Center for 15 years, until 2015. She still serves on the board, and leads meditation and Dharma retreats in the Bay Area and around the world.

Suggested donation for the whole retreat:
£125 / $175 / €150 or £25 / $35 / €30 per day.

Like all our events, this retreat is offered by donation rather than charging a compulsory ticket price. We want to do this because we never want money to be an obstacle to taking part in a supportive community, and we know many people are struggling financially in the wake of the pandemic and cost of living crisis. The amount we suggest reflects the huge amount of work and love that goes into putting on events we hope will benefit everyone attending. If you can, please donate today to help us continue with our work and support others to attend who cannot afford to pay. Thank you!

Climate, Conditionality and Karma

Using the medicine of the Four Reminders, we open to a new Reality

Triratna Earth Sangha Urban Retreat 2023

1-5 June 2023

The urban retreat begins Thursday 1st June

USA PDT 11:00 | México 12:00 | USA EDT 14:00 | IE & UK 19:00 | Europe CEST20:00 | India IST 23:30 | Australia AEST 04:00 (next day) | New Zealand NZST 06:00 (next day)

Join the Urban Retreat—online or in-person!

***

We’re really looking forward to this retreat and exploring how the Dharma can support us in relation to the Climate and Ecological Crises. As Buddhists we have something unique to offer the world in this area.

This retreat will be important not just for climate activists but everyone in the Triratna Community who wants to practise the Dharma in the face of these issues.

Part of Buddhist Action Month 2023, and in fulfilment of the European Chairs Assembly’s strategic priority of ‘Dharmic engagement with social and ecological issues’, which is now also a Triratna International Council priority.

The retreat begins a 30-day habit challenge, which extends throughout June.

We hope you can join us at home or with a group at your local centre for the meditations, talks, study and pujas.

See the full programme and meet the speakers

Suggested donation for the retreat:
£100 / $135 / €120 (or £20 / $30 / €25 per day

Come to any sessions you wish on this Home Retreat – catch up online with all the teachings throughout the week!

Like all our events, this retreat is offered by donation rather than charging a compulsory ticket price. If you can, please donate today to help us continue with our work and support others to attend who cannot afford to pay. Thank you!

Led by members of the Triratna Earth Sangha, including Shantigarbha, Akasaraja, Amaragita, Sarvajit, Buddhasevaka, and others.

Tejananda

Further reading

Shantigarbha’s recent book, The Burning House: A Buddhist response to the climate and ecological emergency, published by Windhorse Publications.

Tejananda

Who are we?

A group of Triratna Order members, Mitras and Friends worldwide who are deeply concerned about the climate and ecological crises we face and see it as part of their practice to do something about them. We are all too painfully aware of the Buddha’s core teaching that actions have consequences. The accelerating destruction of ecosystems in the natural world caused by greed, hatred and ignorance is causing untold suffering to beings of many kinds, and we feel that it is our duty as Buddhists to do what we can to raise awareness of the plight of the planet, demonstrate an alternative way of life based on stillness, simplicity and contentment and act to relieve suffering where we can. WebsiteFacebook groupSlack channel.

Re-watch the Triratna Earth Sangha Home Retreat 2022

The Dharma of Dreams:

Cultivating dream awareness in the Buddhist tradition

Three Saturdays in spring with Arthabandhu

Viveka and Paramananda

About the course
Join Arthabandhu and other dreamers for a three-week course exploring the many realms of dream and sleep, and their significance in the Dharma life.

‘Dreams of Clarity’ is a term from Buddhist Dream Yoga referring to dreams that put us in touch with archetypal dimensions. They are rich, colorful, and often prove to be of deep spiritual significance – sometimes being received by the dreamer as teachings or imparting wisdom.

In order to access our dreams in this way it is necessary first to become more receptive to dream experience. This initially involves the ability to recollect our dreams, then learning how to deepen this faculty so that we become deeply sensitive to them and able to bring Dharmic qualities such as metta (deep kindness), shraddha (faith based on experience), and mindfulness into our dream life.

What to expect
At each stage of the course we will cultivate a deepening awareness and appreciation of our dreams. There will be a new theme each week along with simple practices that we can apply, the fruits of which, if we wish, we will be able to share with our dream group during the next session.

Three Saturdays: March 18, 25, April 1
Please note: clocks change in some parts of the world during the course of this series. Weekly time changes for different regions are shown below in bold.

March 18, 25 (2 hrs): USA PST 12:00 | México 13:00 | USA EST 15:00 | IE & UK 19:00 | Europe CET 20:00 | India 00:30 | Australia AEDT 06.00 (next day) | New Zealand NZDT 08.00 (next day)

April 1 (2 hrs): USA PST 11:00 | México 12:00 | USA EST 14:00 | IE & UK 19:00 | Europe CET 20:00 | India 00:30 | Australia AEST 04.00 (next day) | New Zealand NZST 06.00 (next day)

Dream image by JR Korpa

We offer all our classes by donation. Please give generously so others who can’t afford to pay can attend more events like this.

Suggested donation:
£50 / $60 / €60 for the whole series or £20 / $25 / €25 drop-in per week

About Arthabandhu
Arthabandhu has long had a special interest in dreams and has explored them in relation to Buddhist practice ever since hearing his Buddhist teacher Sangharakshita say: “If you want to really know yourself, pay attention to your dreams.”

Arthabandhu has explored Lucid Dreaming and Buddhist Dream Yoga, as well as studying other approaches to dreams including their application in Gestalt Psychotherapy. He has kept detailed dream diaries, including illustrations, which he has now made into a zine (link below) using these images and extracts from his diaries.

Visit Arthabandhu’s ‘Stuff of Dreams’ site

Viveka and Paramananda

Reflections

A writing and meditation day retreat with Yashobodhi

Sunday 21 May

Viveka and Paramananda

Join Yashobodhi and others for a day of exploration and practice through meditation and reflective writing. We will be using images and metaphors in meditation and follow writing prompts to gently delve deeper into our experience. There will also be a chance to interact with other writers in small breakout groups (sharing your writing is not compulsory!).

This kind of writing is unplanned: just expressing in written words whatever comes up in relation to a series of prompts. We can write anything, and everything that emerges is “right”! It is not about correct grammar or punctuation, it is rather a process of making visible what may often be invisible. It is not about creating a text, but about relating, discovering, and perhaps transforming.

The day consists of two parts which can be attended separately if you wish. We recommend taking part in the whole day, to get the most out of this event!

We offer all our classes by donation. Please give generously so others who can’t afford to pay can attend more events like this.

Suggested donation for the whole series:
£40-70 | $55-95 | €50-80

Sunday 21 May 2023

First session (3 hrs): USA PDT 2:00 am | México CST 3:00 am | USA EDT 5:00 am | IE & UK BST 10:00 am | Europe CEST 11:00 am | India IST 2:30 pm | Australia AEST 7:00 pm | New Zealand NZST 9:00 pm

Second session (2:30 hrs): USA PDT 6:30 am | México CST 7:30 am | USA EDT 9:30 am | IE & UK BST 2:30 pm | Europe CEST 3:30 pm | India IST 7:00 pm | Australia AEST 11:30 pm | New Zealand NZST 1:30 am (next day)

About Yashobodhi

Yashobodhi has been teaching Buddhism, meditation and mindfulness in different settings for over 15 years. She is also a writer and published a variety of articles and two books. For a number of years she has facilitated reflective writing groups, both for the The Buddhist Centre Online and elsewhere. Yashobodhi is originally from the Netherlands, but has lived and worked in the UK since 2010 and happily continues to do so.

Viveka and Paramananda

Daily Meditation

Viveka and Paramananda

We offer two open meditation spaces Monday to Saturday every week.

First sit (45 mins):

USA (PST): 23:30 (previous day)
México: 01:30
USA (EST): 02:30
IE & UK: 07:30
Europe (CET): 08:30
India 12:00
Australia (AEDT): 16:30
New Zealand (NZDT): 18:30 

Second sit (45 mins):

USA (PST): 05:00
México: 07:00
USA (EST): 08:00
IE & UK: 13:00
Europe (CET): 14:00
India: 17:30
Australia (AEDT): 22:00
New Zealand (NZDT): 00:00 (next day)

Donations