International Sangha Day 2020

An Online Festival Of Light
Join us on November 28thSee the programme

What a year… Through dark days that have brought heartache for so many reasons, we’ve come together as a community time and time again. Resilient, reflective, remarkable. And now, as we head into winter in one hemisphere and summer in another, we invite everyone moved by the sangha in 2020 to gather again as one.

We’ll pass the torch around the world once more – starting at dawn in the south Pacific, ending with nightfall in the north – ringing Triratna with a blaze of light in a gorgeous online festival of Dharma. 

From Pune to Paris, Sheffield to Sydney, we’re asking you to bring with you the glow of your practice, the fire of your heart – and connect with so many of us who have seen the Buddha’s bright shining and answered its call. The world has never needed more the exemplification of generosity and friendship that is the best of our sangha. 

Join us on November 28th for a celebration of our deep illumined connections. And let’s get ready together for 2021, resolved to grow and give as a community. Here come all of us to light the way!

The day will be divided into six watches of the day and night, taking us from sunrise to sunrise, sunset to sunset.

 

 

A Luminous Gift from Windhorse Publications

To celebrate Sangha Day, from now until the end of November, Windhorse Publications is giving away the eBook edition of The Complete Works of Sangharakshita Volume 2: The Three Jewels I, normally priced at £17.99.

One of Sangharakshita’s outstanding contributions to Buddhism was to distil what is most fundamental. You are a Buddhist because – and only because – you go for refuge to the three jewels of the Buddha, Dharma and Sangha. The nine texts in this volume, composed over a period of more than thirty years, show Sangharakshita’s unfolding insight into the meaning, significance and centrality of going for refuge.

This volume is part of The Complete Works of Sangharakshita. Find out more about subscribing to the whole collection or buying individual volumes.

Download your free eBook for Sangha Day

Start a subscription to the Complete Works

All the volumes of the Complete Works published to date

This event is made possible through the generosity and work of FutureDharma, the Triratna International Council and The Dharma Toolkit from The Buddhist Centre Online.

 

A Programme to Light the Way

1. Opening ritual and dedication ceremony
From New Zealand (Sudarshanaloka and Wellington Buddhist Centre) 

Australia 08.00 EST | New Zealand 10.00 | India 02.30 | Europe 22.00 CET (Friday 27th) | IE & UK 21.00 (Friday 27th)  | US 16.00 EST (Friday 27th)  | Mexico 15.00 (Friday 27th)  | US 13.00 PST (Friday 27th)

2. Four short personal talks on the ‘glow’ of Sangha in our lives, followed by breakout groups
From Oceania (Australia and New Zealand)

Australia 09.00 EST | New Zealand 11.00 | India 03.30 | Europe 23.00 CET (Friday 27th) | IE & UK 22.00 (Friday 27th)  | US 17.00 EST (Friday 27th)  | Mexico 16.00 (Friday 27th)  | US 14.00 PST (Friday 27th)

3. Cultural event and puja with reaffirmation ritual
From India

Australia 16.30 EST | New Zealand 18.30 | India 11.00 | Europe 06.30 CET | IE & UK 05.30 | US 00.30 EST | Mexico 23.30 (Friday 27th) | US 21.30 PST (Friday 27th)

4. Meditation: Metta Bhavana (loving-kindness)
Led by Abhayadana, India

Australia 18.30 EST | New Zealand 20.30 | India 13.00 | Europe 08.30 CET | IE & UK 07.30 | US 02.30 EST | Mexico 01.30 | US 21.30 PST (Friday 27th)

5. Blazing like the sun: Short talks from Gunaketu (Oslo) and Saddhajala (Krakow), plus multilingual reading from the Itivuttaka
From Mainland Europe

Australia 22.00 EST | New Zealand 00.00 (Sunday 29th) | India 16.30 | Europe 12.00 CET | IE & UK 11.00 | US 06.00 EST | Mexico 05.00 | US 03.00 PST

6. Sangha – A Radiating Circle of Metta (a loving-kindness meditation)
Led by Dharmakirti from Spain

Australia 00.00 EST (Sunday 29th) | New Zealand 02.00 (Sunday 29th) | India 18.30 | Europe 14.00 CET | IE & UK 13.00 | US 08.00 EST | Mexico 07.00 | US 05.00 PST

7. Ritual procession of lights, then  stories and poems by Bhante about Sangha
Led by Saddhanandi from Adhisthana, UK

Australia 02.00 EST (Sunday 29th) | New Zealand 04.00 (Sunday 29th) | India 20.30 | Europe 16.00 CET | IE & UK 15.00 | US 10.00 EST | Mexico 09.00 | US 07.00 PST

8. Expatriate sangha: Three Order Members talk about living and practicing the Dharma in other cultures; followed by breakout groups
Hosted by Jnanadhara in Dublin

Australia 03.30 EST (Sunday 29th) | New Zealand 05.30 (Sunday 29th) | India 22.00 | Europe 17.30 CET |IE & UK 16.30 | US 11.30 EST | Mexico 10.30 | US 08.30 PST

9. Sevenfold Puja & reaffirmation ritual
Hosted by Latin America area

Australia 07.00 EST (Sunday 29th) | New Zealand 09.00 (Sunday 29th) | India 01.30 (Sunday 29th) | Europe 21.00 CET | IE & UK 20.00 | US 15.00 EST | Mexico 14.00 | US 12.00 PST

10. A panel of short talks
Hosted by Latin America

Australia 08.30 EST (Sunday 29th) | New Zealand 10.30 (Sunday 29th) | India 03.00 (Sunday 29th) | Europe 22.30 CET | IE & UK 21.30 | US 16.30 EST | Mexico 15.30 | US 13.30 PST

11. Sangha inspirations
Hosted by North America

Australia 11.00 EST (Sunday 29th) | New Zealand 13.00 (Sunday 29th) | India 05.30 (Sunday 29th) | Europe 01.00 CET (Sunday 29th) | IE & UK 00.00 (Sunday 29th) |  Mexico 18.00 | US 19.00 EST | US 16.00 PST

12. Sutra of Golden Light Puja & closing ritual
Hosted by North America

Australia 12.15 EST (Sunday 29th) | New Zealand 14.15 (Sunday 29th) | India 06.45 (Sunday 29th) | Europe 02.15 CET (Sunday 29th) | IE & UK 01.15 (Sunday 29th) | Mexico 19.15 | US 20.15 EST | US 17.15 PST