Bodh Gaya, India

Our next topic will be the Noble Eightfold Path

On Sun, 27 March, 2016 - 17:33
stuarts's picture

From Tuesday 5th April for eight weeks we will be looking at the Noble Eightfold Path, the path from suffering to happiness.

Each of the eight begins with the word ‘Samma’ most usually translated as ‘Right-‘. The Pali word also denotes wholesome, wise, skillful or ideal.

Right view or vision

Right intention

Right speech

Right action

Right livliehood

Right effort

Right mindfulness

Right concentration or focus

The eight are not sequential but to be practiced as the capacity and circumstances of the individual allows.

These eight can be seen as a way to challenge and change established behaviours leading to a more positive attitude and way of life.

Log in or register to take part in this conversation