Welcome to the Convention! | Bienvenida a la Convención! | अधिवेशन में आपका स्वागत है!

“Well, when the audience is the Order, one does feel quite inspired – not that one doesn’t feel inspired on other occasions, but it’s a special sort of inspiration when the audience is the Order, because one feels the greater depth of seriousness and commitment”.
Bhante after a talk to the Order in 2009 on the Five Spiritual Faculties

Imaginatively, the convention is taking place from the Eastern Gatehouse of the Jetavana, Anathapindika’s Park, Savatthi, where the Buddha taught the Five Spiritual Faculties.  Smrti, Sraddha, Samadhi and Prajna will be explored on the combined days and Virya on the single-sex day.

As well as the events listed below, throughout the event we’ll have conversations on important issues and current ‘Newsbytes’ from around the world.

Our gathering will be on Zoom, which has several limitations compared to how we normally gather, but at the same time we hope will allow more of the Order to participate from around the world.

We invite you to join in as much of the programme as you are able to over the three days and there is a range of events planned with input from all areas of the Triratna Order worldwide.

With metta,

Lokeshvara, Aryajaya and the International Order Office team

We are running this convention on a dana basis and therefore are relying on your generosity to cover our costs and to support international Triratna projects through FutureDharma Fund, India Dhamma Trust and Abhayaratna Trust. If 500 of us at the Convention give £120, or even better £10 each month, then we’ll raise £60,000. Please give whatever you can through the Future Dharma Fund website

Saturday 15th August

 

  • Welcome from Aryajaya and Lokeshvara
  • Dedication Ceremony from Bhaja Caves, India
  • Meditation

    (Whole session: 70 mins)

India 11:30 | Sydney 16:00 | Auckland 18:00 | USA PST 23:00 (14th) | México 01:00 | USA  EST 02:00 | IE & UK 07:00 | Continental Europe 08:00

 

Talk from Prakasha: The Five Spiritual Faculties as Emergent Qualities of the System of Practice (60 mins)

India 14:00 | Sydney 18:30 | Auckland 20:30 | USA PST 01:30 | México 03:30 | USA  EST 04:30 | IE & UK 09:30 | Continental Europe 10:30

 

Workshop with Vidyamala: Be Here Now:  the Four Foundations of Mindfulness, Smrti (90 mins)

India 15:30 | Sydney 20:00 | Auckland 22:00 | USA PST 03:00 | México 05:00 | USA  EST 06:00 | IE & UK 11:00 | Continental Europe 12:00

 

  • Highlighting the Fifty Years, Fifty Voices project (10 mins) 
  • New Order members introduce themselves (50 mins)

    (Whole session: 60 mins)

We’ve asked all new Order members since the last International Convention to record a short hello message!

India 18:20 | Sydney 22:50 | Auckland 00:50 | USA PST 05:50 | México 07:50 | USA  EST 08:50 | IE & UK 13:50 | Continental Europe 14:50

 

 

Living the Five Faculties: a path through racial polarisation? A conversation with Bodhilila and Padmadhara, hosted by Ratnadharini (60 mins)

India 19:30 | Sydney 00:00 | Auckland 02:00 | USA PST 07:00 | México 09:00 | USA  EST 10:00 | IE & UK 15:00 | Continental Europe 16:00

 

NewsBytes from around the world (40 mins)

India 21:30 | Sydney 02:00 | Auckland 04:00 | USA PST 09:00 | México 11:00 | USA  EST 12:00 | IE & UK 17:00 | Continental Europe 18:00

 

Discussion with Ariyanatha and Chandrasiddhi in Mexico and Nagamitra in India: diversity in the Order (60 mins)

India 22:30 | Sydney 03:00 | Auckland 05:00 | USA PST 10:00 | México 12:00 | USA  EST 13:00 | IE & UK 18:00 | Continental Europe 19:00

 

Jataka tale puppet show (30 mins)

Mandarava – an artist and puppet maker widely known in the UK – will be presenting a re-imagining of the Jataka tale ‘The Brave Little Parrot’.

India 00:30 | Sydney 05:00| Auckland 07:00 | USA PST 12:00 | México 14:00 | USA  EST 15:00 | IE & UK 20:00 | Continental Europe 21:00

 

Ritual from Taraloka: ‘So may I become . . .’ (60 mins)

Evoking the Bodhisattva Ideal through Mantra, meditation and recitation

India 01:00 (16th) | Sydney 05:30 (16th) | Auckland 07:30 (16th) | USA PST 12:30 | México 14:30 | USA  EST 15:30 | IE & UK 20:30 | Continental Europe 21:30

 

Exemplifying Community Online: What Next for Triratna? (75 mins)

A conversation hosted by Aryadrishti and Viriyalila, with Candradasa and Ratnavyuha, asking the question: How do we stay united as a community and engage with the realities of life on the web to everyone’s advantage?

India 02:30 (16th) | Sydney 07:00 (16th) | Auckland 09:00 (16th) | USA PST 14:00 | México 16:00 | USA  EST 17:00 | IE & UK 22:00 | Continental Europe 23:00

 

A conversation with Australian order members of Aboriginal heritage, hosted by Sujiva (60 mins)

We hear from Chandramalin, Buddhankapali and Satyagandhi about Race, Identity & the Dharma life

India 04:30 | Sydney 09:00 | Auckland 11:00 | USA PST 16:00 (15th) | México 18:00 (15th) | USA  EST 19:00 (15th) | IE & UK 00:00 | Continental Europe 01:00

 

Talk by Siladasa, in Melbourne, Australia: The Bodhisattva’s Harmony of the Faculties (50 mins)

Siladasa will be emphasizing the altruistic dimension of the faculties thereby linking them with the Bodhisattva Path, and suggesting ways for maturing them with the help of ‘other power’ as well as by individual effort

India 06:30 | Sydney 11:00 | Auckland 13:00 | USA PST 18:00 (15th) | México 20:00 (15th) | USA  EST 21:00 (15th) | IE & UK 02:00 | Continental Europe 03:00

 

Sunday 16th August

Bodhicitta Practice led by Maitripala, Australia, including remembering Order members who have died and resigned in the last two years (60 mins)

India 12:00 | Sydney 16:30 | Auckland 18:30 | USA PST 23:30 (15th) | México 01:30 | USA  EST 02:30 | IE & UK 07:30 | Continental Europe 08:30

 

Talk from Prakasha: Entering the Mandala of Awakening (60 mins)

India 14:00 | Sydney 18:30 | Auckland 20:30 | USA PST 01:30 | México 03:30 | USA  EST 04:30 | IE & UK 09:30 | Continental Europe 10:30

 

Workshop from Tejananda: from Samadhi to Prajna (90 mins)

India 15:30 | Sydney 20:00 | Auckland 22:00 | USA PST 03:00 | México 05:00 | USA  EST 06:00 | IE & UK 11:00 | Continental Europe 12:00

 

  • Vishvapani short talk on a new model for social engagement  
  • Panel respondents, including Kulanandi, Vajratara and Suddhayu

    (Whole session: 60 mins) 

India 17:30 | Sydney 22:00 | Auckland 00:00 | USA PST 05:00 | México 07:00 | USA  EST 08:00 | IE & UK 13:00 | Continental Europe 14:00

 

Bodhicitta Practice with Subhuti  (60 mins)

Apologies for the poor sound quality of the meditation after the introduction. We’ve included in the video only the start and end portion of this session because the rest was inaudible.

You can hear Subhuti and other members lead through the Bodhichitta Practice here (requires Order login).

India 19:00 | Sydney 23:30 | Auckland 01:30 | USA PST 06:30 | México 08:30 | USA  EST 09:30 | IE & UK 14:30 | Continental Europe 15:30

Triratna NewsBytes from around the world (30 mins)

India 20:30 | Sydney 01:00 | Auckland 03:00 | USA PST 08:00 | México 10:00 | USA  EST 11:00 | IE & UK 16:00 | Continental Europe 17:00

 

Developing a framework for harmonious speech when we disagree, panel discussion (60 mins)

India 21:10 | Sydney 01:40 | Auckland 03:40 | USA PST 08:40 | México 10:40 | USA  EST 11:40 | IE & UK 16:40 | Continental Europe 17:40

 

  • Meditation – Order Metta, led by Vimalamati (45 mins) 
  • Developing networks of care in the Order: a presentation from the Abhayaratna Trust (45 mins)

    (Whole session: 90 mins)

India 22:30 | Sydney 03:00 | Auckland 05:00 | USA PST 10:00 | México 12:00 | USA  EST 13:00 | IE & UK 18:00 | Continental Europe 19:00

 

  • Music from Sravaniya
  • Thanks and introduction to final ritual

    (Whole session 45 mins)

India 00:45 | Sydney 05:15 | Auckland 07:15 | USA PST 12:15 | México 14:15 | USA  EST 15:15 | IE & UK 20:15 | Continental Europe 21:15

 

Forgiveness ritual led by Malini (60 mins)

India 01:30 (17th) | Sydney 06:00 (17th) | Auckland 08:00 (17th) | USA PST 13:00 | México 15:00 | USA  EST 16:00 | IE & UK 21:00 | Continental Europe 22:00

 

We are running this convention on a dana basis and therefore are relying on your generosity to cover our costs and to support international Triratna projects through FutureDharma Fund, India Dhamma Trust and Abhayaratna Trust.

Please give whatever you can. If 500 of us at the Convention give £120, or even better £10 each month, then we’ll raise £60,000.