Triratna News

Marking the First Anniversary of the Death of Urgyen Sangharakshita

On Tue, 22 October, 2019 - 15:11
Sadayasihi's picture
Sadayasihi

Updated: Watch the anniversary talk by Jnanavaca here

On the 30th October 2018 Urgyen Sangharakshita, the founder of Triratna’s Order and Community died. At his funeral last November an estimated 1,200 to 1,400 people attended the ceremony and burial in Adhisthana, and over 60,000 more watched online around the world.

To mark the first anniversary of his death Jnanavaca will be giving a talk at Adhisthana entitled ‘Seeing Bhante - A Personal Perspective’, in which he will reflect on the significance of Sangharakshita’s life.

We will be live streaming this talk on Wednesday 30th October 7.30pm GMT / 3.30pm EST / 8.30pm CET / 1am India (Thursday 31st) / 6.30am Sydney (Thursday 31st) / 8.30am Auckland (Thursday 31st).

Watch the live stream of Jnanavaca’s talk on a number of different spaces:

Sangharakshita Memorial Space    |    Buddhist Centre Features    |    The Buddhist Centre home page   |   The Buddhist Centre Facebook page

There will also be a feed of updates throughout the day on Instagram and on Twitter as Centres throughout Triratna mark this significant anniversary in their own ways.

We will also be renewing the Memorial Space itself as a permanent tribute to Sangharakshita’s life and work for the Dharma. Keep an eye out over the coming days as we update it with new content, including a new full length film of the funeral, interviews with close friends and colleagues who knew him best, and an intimate, honest talk from Mahamati about his long friendship with Sangharakshita and the issues he faced, especially towards the end of his life.

+Follow the Sangharakshita Memorial space

Log in or register to respond