Online Meditators

Wednesday Meditation: Above, Below, and All Around - The Four Immeasurables

On Mon, 7 October, 2019 - 12:06
Sadayasihi's picture
Sadayasihi

Body like a mountain, heart like an ocean, mind like the sky.” - attributed to Dōgen, 13th Century Japanese Buddhist monk and founder of the Sōtō school of Zen

The Brahma Viharas are sometimes known as the four immeasurables because the number of living beings to whom they apply is immeasurable and the benefits of practising them are immeasurable. 

The Brahma Viharas meditation consist of cultivating loving-kindness (Metta), compassion / solidarity (karuna), sympathetic joy (mudita) and equanimity (upeksha).

This is how the Buddha describes these sublime states:

They keep pervading above, below, and all around, everywhere and in every respect the all-encompassing cosmos with an awareness imbued with good will…. compassion… appreciation … equanimity: abundant, expansive, immeasurable, free from hostility, free from ill will.  - From The Kalama Sutta, Aṅguttara Nikāya

Over five weeks we will be exploring these meditation practices, diving into the depths of positive emotion and dwelling in these ‘divine abodes’, the heart’s natural state. The series starts on Wednesday 16th October at 8am EST / 1pm GMT+1 / 2pm CET / 6.30pm IST.

Join us on Zoom here: https://zoom.us/j/890144764

You can find out more about joining in on Zoom by watching this short video.  You can also download Zoom here.

So you can either bookmark the above Zoom link for when our sessions start but another option is to get notified of our weekly sessions is by subscribing to our Buddhist Centre Online Meditations calendar (which will prompt you with the Zoom link):-

Google Calendar  |  iCal

Looking forward to seeing you online!

P.S. If you enjoy these online meditations, please consider making a gift to support our work at https://thebuddhistcentre.com/giving

Log in or register to respond

Responses

Sunset42's picture

 Hello. I wanted to join the meditation today, but sadly I’m not going to be able to make it.  Wishing you all a spacious and meaningful session. See you next week :-). 

Sadayasihi's picture

Hi Sunset42!

Sorry to hear you can’t make it today - but great to have you along next time. Have a good week!

With Metta,
Sadayasihi