Jobs, Volunteering & Communities

Walthamstow Women's Community

On Wed, 11 March, 2015 - 11:28
Nandavajra's picture
Nandavajra
Walthamstow Women’s Community

Would you like to join our women’s Triratna Buddhist community?

The existing community is made up of three women in our mid-twenties to early thirties and a tortoiseshell cat called Maggie. It is a friendly, open and supportive environment which we feel allows our Buddhist practice to really flourish.

In order to create a home that is supportive of our ethics and to allow for effective communication, the house is vegetarian and alcohol free, and all members commit to a regular weekly meeting (currently on Sunday mornings) and a daily shared meditation practice in our shrine room. We also try to reduce our impact on the environment by recycling and using ethical energy suppliers. We are keen to live with other women who have made the step of becoming Mitras or are Order Members.
All three of us are also passionate about being part of the wider Sangha and meet with existing groups such as the Walthamstow Sangha regularly, as well as hosting gatherings of our own.

The house and moving in dates

The house is a lovely spacious and bright property on three floors. It has been completely redecorated with a new kitchen, including a dishwasher. There are two bathrooms and a lovely large back garden.

The room is available immediately but we are willing to wait for the right person. Please do get in touch.

Location

Walthamstow is a community oriented friendly area and the local area has a lovely health foodstore, independent shops, alternative pubs with live events and music. The William Morris gallery is also nearby with it lovely park and café. And for an immersion in the natural landscape Epping Forest and walthamstow marshes are only a short drive or cycle away. The house is owned by Jayakara, who has been ordained for 5 years.

About You and Next Steps

If you are a woman Buddhist Mitra or Order Member, and if this sounds like a valuable opportunity for you please contact us.
Emma on ward.l.emma [at] gmail.com / 07535700539, Irene on cenasi [at] hotmail.it / 0777 2049322 or Hannah on Hannah_mackenzie [at] live.co.uk / 07592 791908.
Log in or register to take part in this conversation