Jobs, Volunteering & Communities

Community house opportunity in Lewes, Sussex

On Mon, 6 December, 2021 - 09:17
JulieW's picture
JulieW

Hello

We’re Julie and Luke, and we live in a quirky welcoming house, with a lovely garden and log cabin, on the outskirts of Lewes - we’d like to create a community here and so are looking for 2 people to join us.  

Julie first went on an Intro to Buddhism retreat at Rivendell about 15 years ago, and has since been part of Brighton and Lewes sanghas, and recently became a Mitra.  Luke has a regular meditation practice drawing from a range of traditions and we both enjoy Vajradarshini’s retreats in particular.

We’ve both spent many years living in community settings - mostly in England but also travelling for several years in Europe, to places like Findhorn and other retreat centres / rural communities in France, Spain and Portugal.  We’ve been back in our house in Lewes since Spring and would now love to create a sense of community here.  We both work part time - Luke as a carpenter and Julie running nature-connection for wellbeing groups.

Our beautiful dog Isla is a big part of our lives and our daily practice.  We also have 3 much loved chickens and have just started a veg patch we’d like to expand.  

Due to the layout of the house it would best suit a couple or two good friends - the likelihood is that we would use the cabin as our bedroom, and a room in the house for occasional work space.  Whoever shares with us would have 2 bedrooms in the house - so there is potential to have 2 separate bedrooms or use one room as a bedroom and one as a work / creative / office space.  But this is all open to discussion. We were renting the house out weekends over summer so you can see some photos of the space here

We’d like to share daily meditation, some meals together, lovely country walks over the South Downs, and the occasional glass of wine and games night!  Quiet time to relax and reflect is also important to us. 

The rooms are available from after xmas, but we’re open to when people might like to move in and how long they’d like to stay, and we will have a look into what market rent would be.

We’d love to hear from you if this appeals…. rightpocket [at] gmail.com or 07810444864

Log in or register to take part in this conversation