Glasgow Buddhist Centre

Great Stages of the Spiritual Path

On Thu, 5 July, 2012 - 01:00
Free Buddhist Audio's picture
Free Buddhist Audio
Padmavajra begins by reflecting on the incident early after the Buddha's Enlightenment when he looks for someone or something to revere. The Buddha resolves to revere the Dharma. Padmavajra describes the experience of reverence and speaks of it as a human need.

He lists the six garavas or things to be revered, and goes on to speak in more length about the 4th of these, spiritual training, siksa.

He then looks at the Great Stages of the Spiritual Path, which Sangharakshita outlines in a seminar on The Precious Garland by Nagarjuna. This teaching is based on the Five Margas and these reflections are what are eventually developed into the System of Meditation or System of Practice.

These five stages are Integration, Positive Emotion, Vision or Spiritual Death, Transformation or Spiritual Rebirth and Spontaneous Compassionate Activity.
Log in or register to take part in this conversation