FutureDharma

Webinar: "Effective Fundraising for Triratna Centres"

On Wed, 3 June, 2020 - 15:19
kusaladevi's picture
kusaladevi

Dear Friends,

I’m writing on behalf of Future Dharma, in partnership with the Sikkha Project to invite you to an online webinar: Effective Fundraising for Triratna centres. The webinar will take place on Friday, June 12th at 9:30am (BST) and then again at 5pm (BST), taking into account the needs of the different time zones. We hope people from around the world will be able to participate.

Triratna has moved swiftly to respond to the Covid crisis, by offering online content and engagement through live-streaming and online groups. But centres don’t have the same mechanisms for receiving donations as when they were open. The dana bowls sit empty and courses and retreats, which may have supplemented income have been cancelled, or have moved online. I was invited by Future Dharma at the start of the lockdown to work with them to support Triratna situations to fundraise effectively at this time. With my background training and 7 years of experience working with Karuna, I want to ensure that, as a movement, we don’t shy away from inviting our Sanghas to contribute financially at this time.

Vajrashura, who is part of the Sikkha team, will host this webinar, which will be in two parts. Firstly, a conversation between myself and Sanghamani, long standing friends, who both have a number of years experience in fundraising and training others to fundraise, including doing that together at Karuna. Together, Sanghamani and I will explore three main fundraising channels at this time - email campaigns, phone campaigns and “live” online dana appeals. The second part of the webinar will be a Question and Answer session, where together, along with a number of people who have recently fundraised successfully in their situations, we can all explore what is needed to make fundraising effective in this current situation and beyond.

In the webinar we will reference the Fundraising Toolkit which I released a few weeks ago, as well as the Centre Fundraising Forum - a space for people to share fundraising ideas and inspiration, as well as to ask questions. We will also reference two videos on making a dana appeal which you will be able to find after the webinar on the Sikkha Fundraising Page

You can see more about this webinar on this video

I hope you’ll be able to participate in the webinar on 12th June at either:

9:30am UK - 8:30pm Auckland - 10:30am Europe - 6:30pm Melbourne - 2pm Mumbai

5pm UK - 11am Mexico City - Europe 6pm - 12 noon Maine, EDT - 9am San Francisco, PDT

Please let us know if you’re going to come (so that we can have a sense of numbers) by filling in this simple form and we’ll send you the Zoom invitation for the meeting.

Yours in the Dharma,

Kusaladevi

on behalf of Future Dharma

Log in or register to take part in this conversation