Buddhist Centre Features

Moving Through the World with an Open Heart: Exploring Tonglen with Jayachitta

On Fri, 14 October, 2022 - 13:05
Centre Team's picture
Centre Team

Sunday 4th December

Get one ticket and come to any session you wish!

First daily session (1.5 hrs): USA PST 01:00 | México 03:00 | USA EST 04:00 | IE & UK 09:00 | Europe CET 10:00 | India 14:30 | Australia AEST 19:00 | New Zealand NZST 22:00

Second daily session (2.5 hrs): USA PST 05:30 | México 07:30 | USA EST 08:30 | IE & UK 13:30 | Europe CET 14:30 | India 19:00 | Australia AEST 23:30 | New Zealand NZST 02:30 (next day)

Third daily session (1.5 hrs): USA PST 10:30 | México 12:30 | USA EST 13:30 | IE & UK 18:30 | Europe CET 19:30 | India 00:00 (next day) | Australia AEST 04:30 (next day) | New Zealand NZST 07:30 (next day)

Reserve your space!

***

A day retreat exploring the practice of Tonglen, with meditation, movement and voice Led by Jayachitta.

Tonglen is a meditation practice centered around compassion in response to the sufferings of the world.

The word ‘tonglen’ means “to send out and to receive”. The practice is closely related to the training of the Bodhisattva, whose heart opens unconditionally to all life and all living beings.  

Pema Chödrön says: _”All sentient beings without exception have…an inherent tenderness of the heart, its natural tendency to love and care for others. But over time, in order to shield ourselves from feeling pain and discomfort, we have erected solid barriers that cover up our tenderness and vulnerability.” _

In these uncertain times, full of change and, sometimes, fear, how can we remain open and become still when we are truly aware of the sorrows around us? How can we, without closing ourselves off, be fully present here in this moment, and experience that we too are a part of the world? 

This day retreat is an introduction to Tonglen practice in a form that involves the body and voice. We will be using movement improvisation and meditation. No prior experience is necessary. You can expect to experience joy on this event! 

The morning and evening sessions will give the context to the main practice, which will be introduced in the afternoon.

***

Jayachitta has been a Buddhist since 1981, and has lived and worked with other Buddhists for much of that time. She has a deep love of performance as a gateway into the infinity of human expression. Explorative improvisation, movement and ‘clowning’ are very important to her as supportive approaches to spiritual life, because these are based in physical expression and play. Jayachitta sees this kind of practice as an interactive way of entering and exploring the space that one discovers in meditation.

For more info, see www.playofnow.com

***

Find out more and book your place here!

Log in or register to take part in this conversation