Buddhist Centre Features

Marking the Change of Time: A Day of Reflective Writing and Meditation with Yashobodhi

On Fri, 15 July, 2022 - 10:37
Centre Team's picture
Centre Team

25 September 2022

This day involves two sessions. Feel free to attend one or both.

First session (4 hours): USA PST 05:00 | Mexico 07:00 | USA EST 08:00 | IE & UK 13:00 | Europe 14:00 CET | India 17:30pm | Australia AEST 22.00 | New Zealand NZDT 01:00 (next day)

Second session (2 hours): USA PST 11:00 | Mexico 13:00 | USA EST 14:00 | IE & UK 19:00| Europe 20:00 CET | India 23:30pm | Australia AEST 04.00 (next day) | New Zealand NZDT 07:00 (next day)

Find out more and book your place here!

***

About the day

Last year we held a wonderful and much-loved series of writing events with Yashobodhi.

For 2022 we’re back with the second of two day retreats: this one in Autumn in the northern hemisphere, spring in the southern hemisphere. As the clocks spring forward or fall back, here is an opportunity to reflect on the past and ponder the future.

And what better way to do that than in the here and now, in the company of like-minded friends? We will be following a series writing prompts that allow us to reflect on our lives, where we are and how we got there.

What have we learnt? What was important? What not so much…?

In this way images, patterns and thoughts can emerge that may show us a thread to follow into the future.

Come and join us for a seasonal marking of the changes in our lives, and the world around us.

***

What to expect

We will explore and practise through meditation and reflective writing. We will also interact in small breakout groups to give spoken words to our experience and be kindly witnessed by others.

This day consists of two sessions that can be attended separately. To get the most of the day, it would, of course, work best to take part in the whole day. 

In the first session we will focus on the past. In the second we will looking towards the future. Both parts of the day will finish with a short ritual.

Reserve your space here!

***

About Yashobodhi

Yashobodhi has been teaching Buddhism, meditation and mindfulness in different settings for over 15 years. She is originally from the Netherlands, but has lived and worked in the UK since 2010, initially mainly teaching at the West London Buddhist Centre. In the last few years she has been teaching mindfulness and meditation in a range of contexts, and continues to do so online during this pandemic.

Yashobodhi is also a writer. She had two books on Buddhism published in the Netherlands, and for many years contributed to an annual publication, writing short explanations to Buddhist quotes. She also published articles in a variety of magazines and was the editor of a Dutch Buddhist magazine. A few years ago Yashobodhi completed a course for facilitating expressive and therapeutic writing. She has been running a weekly writing group since the beginning of the pandemic.

Watch Yashobodhi’s previous events & subscribe on YouTube

***

Find out more and book your place here!

Log in or register to take part in this conversation