Buddhist Centre Features

Following the White Deer

On Wed, 29 November, 2023 - 15:06
Centre Team's picture
Centre Team

🧘‍♀️ 🧘‍♂️ Seven days of meditation, soulful exploration, and strong, supportive friendship: a safe space to go deeper into experience and practice.

A Home Retreat led by Paramananda and Bodhilila

Friday January 19th till Thursday January 25th 2024

***

In many human cultures white deer hold a place of deep significance, being often met at the edges or boundaries of personal or communal land and experience. Sometimes they appear as messengers from the otherworld, as in Celtic mythology; in some North American traditions they represent ancestor spirits come to bestow good fortune on whoever beholds them in the woods.

Arthurian legend draws on the white deer’s elusive, fleeting, transient qualities to characterize its pursuit as representing a sacred quest. Its appearance marked a definitive change, signaling that the time to set out on some new spiritual adventure was at hand.

Many of us recognize or remember some sense of a summons or call to break free of the limitations of what you know, to set out on some as yet unknown path in our life. We can’t say where we are going – but we sense it might lead to a more profound experience of ourselves as someone alive and moving through the world. The White Deer of this retreat with Paramananda and Bodhilila is that call – to go forth from our own limited, self-regarding perspectives towards better, kinder, wiser connections with others.

Reserve your place on ‘Following the White Deer’



First daily session (2 hrs): USA PST 02:00 | México 04:00 | USA EST 05:00 | IE & UK 10:00 | Europe CET 11:00 | India 15:30 | Australia AEDT 21.00 | New Zealand NZDT 23.00

Second daily session (2 hrs): USA PST 08:00 | México 10:00 | USA EST 11:00 | IE & UK 16:00 | Europe CET 17:00 | India 21:30 | Australia AEDT 03.00 (next day) | New Zealand NZDT 05.00 (next day)

Third daily session (1.5 hrs): USA PST 11:30 | México 13:30 | USA EST 14:30 | IE & UK 19:30 | Europe CET 20:30 | India 01:00 (next day) | Australia AEDT 06.30 (next day) | New Zealand NZDT 08.30 (next day)

Join us for an emergent space that will include meditation, poetry, reflections, small and large group discussions and enquiry, teaching input, drumming, guided practices, and creative ritual!

Subtitle: 
Answering the mythic call in meditation: a new Home Retreat
Log in or register to take part in this conversation

Responses

Prabhakari's picture

Is it open to friends and mitras? It looks great

Candradasa's picture

Hi Prabhakari. Yes, it’s open to friends and Mitras. In practice, because Home Retreats retreats are quite full-on people who attend them have a fair bit of meditation experience, almost always within Triratna. Sometimes we make that explicit as a condition of booking when asked to, but Paramananda’s retreats are currently open to all.