Buddhist Centre Features

The Burning House Returns!

On Fri, 25 February, 2022 - 13:58
Zac's picture
Zac

Shantigarbha is back with a two-part course for Buddhists & eco-activists concerned about the climate emergency, wishing to ground their work in a spiritual context.

Part 1: Introduction to the Burning House

Dates: 12, 19, 26 May; (skip 2 June for UK Bank Holiday); 9 June, 2022.

Sessions (2 hrs 15 mins, with break): USA PST 11:00 | México 13:00 | USA EST 14:00 | IE & UK 19:00 | Europe CET 20:00 | India: 23:30 | Australia AEDT 04.00 (next day) | New Zealand NZDT 06.00 (next day)

Part 2: Going Deeper into the Burning House

Dates: 1, 8, 15, 22 September 2022.

Sessions (2 hrs 15 mins, with break): USA PST 11:00 | México 13:00 | USA EST 14:00 | IE & UK 19:00 | Europe CET 20:00 | India: 23:30 | Australia AEDT 04.00 (next day) | New Zealand NZDT 06.00 (next day)

When you book for Part 1 we will also offer a discounted ticket for both courses!

***

About the course

How can we wake up and respond to the climate and ecological emergency?

This two-part course follows Shantigarbha’s recently published book, The Burning House: A Buddhist Response to the Climate and Ecological Emergency and explores the most pressing question of our times.

Buddhists give great importance to mindfulness, wisdom, compassion and interconnectedness, qualities that often make them deeply concerned about the environment and climate change. So what does Buddhism have to say about the climate emergency? How can we see it for what it really is, a crisis of empathy?

This is a course for Dharmafarers concerned about the climate, and eco-activists wishing to ground their work in a spiritual context. We’ll offer:

- Support to process your responses to the climate and ecological emergency in a safe environment.

- Support in making the the climate and ecological emergency part of your Dharma practice. How do you decide to get involved?

- Support for eco-activists to avoid burnout: training in nonviolence, love and wisdom.

What to expect

The chapters follow the Buddhist path from self-development to social change, inspired by the profound principle of nonviolence, or love. Each week we will send you the corresponding chapter(s) of the book and ask you to read them as preparation for the session.

Part 1:

● Week one: Crisis? What crisis?

● Week two: Touching the Earth

● Week three: Environmental ethics and compassion

● Week four: The Five Precepts

Part 2:

● Week five: The Burning House

● Week six: Anger, grief and gratitude

● Week seven: Transforming self and world

● Week eight: Be the change

***

Booking on to this course:

There are three booking options for this course, with a special price for booking onto both parts 1 & 2:

‘Donate and attend both’, ‘Donate and attend one’, ‘Attend without donating’.

***

Book a place, or simply find out more here!

Log in or register to take part in this conversation