BAM

For the Earth: The Earth is my Witness, by Aryadrishti

On Mon, 15 June, 2020 - 19:55
Christine's picture
Christine

On Sunday June 21, Aryadrishti will exaine how we can face the suffering of the world with an open heart, and act with aware kindness. Complementing the Dharma life, her vocation is habitat restoration, often of salmon-bearing streams and rivers of the Pacific Northwest. She is our 3rd (of 4) speakers on BAM 2020. This is a free event, offered on the generosity economy. Donations are welcome.

USA 11am PST | México 1pm | USA 2pm EST | UK & IE 7pm | Europe 8pm CET.   Approximately 60 mins, in Zoom (register on Eventbrite), or on Facebook Live. We’ll invite you in from the waiting room 10 minutes before the event begins.

When Mara challenged the Buddha on the verge of enlightenment on his worth, he called the earth as his witness. The earth now is a witness to all the greed, hatred, and delusion of centuries of human occupation. Just as the Buddha saw waves of human suffering unending, it goes on. And the earth also witnesses the good done by all beings everywhere everyday. The good that heals and awakens. How do we face the suffering of the world with an open heart and act with aware kindness. How do we keep it up in the face of overwhelming odds? How do we stay connected with the good in ourselves and each other to inspire a way of being worthy of the earth’s witness.

Log in or register to take part in this conversation

Responses

marysalome's picture

Looking forward to this!